The Dark Heroine Review

As a huge vampire/fantasy/romance novel fan, seeing a new author on the shelves always sends me this little thrill of excitement down my back. Especially since Waterstones added a sticker saying “the Sexiest Romance you’ll read this year”… and this is the year we had the hype of Fifty Shades of Grey! So without a second hesitance I grabbed it off the shelf. I didn’t even read the synopsis! That just shows you my trust in Waterstones.

The Dark Heroine (dinner with a vampire) - Abigail Gibbs

The Dark Heroine (dinner with a vampire) – Abigail Gibbs

The Dark Heroine (dinner with a vampire) is about a normal girl that discovers the world of the paranormal and vampire race. So a pretty normal start to a series (yes, that’s right there will be a sequel). We feel a connection to Violet straight away. A normal teenager, with a firey attitude and strong personality, I’m sure most of us can either relate to that or aspire to be that. Either way, we love her. I was hooked by the first chapter!

And there’s no waiting around for the story to develop, Abigail throws us straight into it. I much prefer that, compared to other authors who like to drag it out, this way we get a lot more action and most importantly we get to meet the love interest even quicker.

I found that Kasper was a great main love interest, he had that rough, dominant male aspect to him that as we saw from the huge hit from “50 shades” us women all love!

So, so far everything is going great. I love the romance, the sexy elements, the characters, the action, even the gorey parts. But then something happened.

I’m not surely exactly what it is, but it felt like all the passion in the book just got flushed out. I would say this happened at about 3/4 of the way through the book. Maybe it’s because we got so much of all the good stuff since the beginning that we just get a bit bored at the end. I’m not saying I don’t want to know what happens to her in the next book, because I do. And I would most probably by the sequel. It’s just the book didn’t grab me like it did at the beginning.

The Dark Heroine synopsis for those of you who wouldn't skip it :P

The Dark Heroine synopsis for those of you who wouldn’t skip it :P

I think what may have happened is that Kasper changed too quickly. He went from being this really bad-boy who doesn’t love anything and who would rip Violets neck out just for fun, to being this totally smitten pup.

What I look forward to the most in romance books is the power the women have to be able to change the men. I think that’s what we all love the most. To know that you can get the coldest, meanest, nastiest, most controlling man and you, as a woman, can break him and change him to suit you. But in The Dark Heroine, that changed happened a little too quickly, and unbelievably for my liking.

If she would have taken a little more time developing this part I would have probably been hooked till the last page and anticipatingly waiting the release of the next book.

But even though I say all this, I loved the book. For just an 18 year old, who’s at Uni studying for her degree in English, it’s incredible for her to have been able to do this. So really kudos to you girl.

I would recommend this to any vampire/fantasy fan and she is an author to look out for in the future.

If you want more info about Abigail and her other stories and up coming books, go to http://www.wattpad.com/user/Canse12

Enjoy

Laurie

X

One response to “The Dark Heroine Review

  1. I really liked your review, I don’t like it either when the lovey-dovey stuff happens too fast, it’s much better when the tension is drawn out xx

Leave a Reply

