Sorry Murray…

Today we saw Murray and Federer at the men’s final of Wimbledon. I, along with 20 million other people, sat in front of the TV to see if Murray made history, as the first British man to win Wimbledon in over 76 years.

Andy Murray, putting on a great game at Wimbledon

Andy Murray, putting on a great game at Wimbledon

The point I’m saying this, is not to give a review of what I thought the match was like, I’m not a huge sport fan so I won’t try and pretend I know everything that was going on. The reason I’m writing this is because I’ve never quite liked Murray. The man never smiles! And that annoys me. It looks like he never cares, the way he speaks in interviews makes him seem so stuck up and rude, so when watching today’s game I was hoping Federer was going to win. And to be honest, Federer has already won Wimbledon 6 times along with 10 other grand slam titles. Even though Murray is still an incredibly tennis player, he is no Federer (well not yet anyway).

Roger Federer consoles Andy Murray after winning Wimbledon

Roger Federer consoles Andy Murray after winning Wimbledon

What got me though, was the interview he did at the end. That was such a touching interview, it made me cry. Yes that’s right, I went from not liking the man, to crying for his loss. I suppose what I saw in previous interviews was the cold and strong exterior he put out to keep his head straight and keep focused. The interview was so moving, where we see him openly start crying in front of 20 million people. It takes a lot to make a man cry, let alone in front of 20 million people! It shows the commitment he had and how much he wanted to win, not just for himself, but for his family, friends and his fans.

I wasn’t a fan before, but I definitely am now. And I don’t think I’m the only one that’s changed their mind about him. I’m certain the next time we see Murray play he will have an even bigger  fan base, cheering him on. The whole nation will be routing for him. I definitely will, I’m already starting to think of Murray nail ideas.

If you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the video of Andy Murray’s interview after Federer wins the Wimbledon final.

Hopefully, the next time we see Andy cry, would be with tears of joy when he lifts up the winners trophy.

So basically, what I want to say is sorry. You may not have won Wimbledon this year, but you have won the hearts of so many fans today and we will be supporting you until the day you finally get your hands on that damn trophy!

GO TEAM MURRAY!

Laurie

X

2 responses to “Sorry Murray…

  1. Awww that was such a teary speech! :( I still prefer Federer though. They’re both amazing tennis players and there’s always the next Wimbledon for Murray :)

Leave a Reply

