Who will be Mr. Grey?

Yes, ladies you have heard right, they are making a 50 Shades of Grey movie! I am beyond excited about this film coming out and simply can not wait for it!

Who will be Christian Grey? Image taken by Mark Whitfield Photography

Who will be Christian Grey? Image taken by Mark Whitfield Photography

So the question that is on our mind now, is who will be playing the now famous role of Mr. Grey?

The young and handsome billionaire has become widely adored by its readers for having a complex personality which encompasses a much darker side to him than you would have originally given him credit for.

The actor who takes on this role will have to be able to show:

  • A cold and efficient business persona
  • A dark and sometimes even a mean streak
  • But throughout that must also be able to seem loveable

Now this seems like a hard mix to put together, but the fans and some film makers have already started making their mind as to who they think would be best for the role.

The author of the trilogy has stated that she doesn’t want Robert Pattinson or Kristen Stewart to take the lead roles. Sigh of relief. As much as I have loved Edward, I don’t want him taking on the role of Christian. I know the books were originally Twilight fan fiction, but that doesn’t mean the books haven’t progressed and changed since Twilight. Christian is different to Edward and I think that if Robert played Christian it would merge the two characters together and no one would want to see that happening. And I’ve never been a fan of Kristen’s lack of emotions, Ana needs someone who can crack a smile from time to time.

So that’s those two out of the running for the lead roles. Now lets see who’s still in the running.

Seems like Ian Somerhalder has been preparing for the role of Christian Grey ;)

Seems like Ian Somerhalder has been preparing for the role of Christian Grey ;)

If the choice was based on the fans, then Ian Somerhalder would be Mr. Grey. For all of you who are not Vampire Diaries fans, Ian plays the role of Damon Salvator who’s a vampire. In his role he has a cold/dark streak to him, yet he is still totally loveable and sweet. I am a huge Vampire Diaries fan and of Ian/Damon (I even have the Team Damon Hoodie… yes I know I’m 21 years old and that’s no longer cool to do)

Joseph Morgan as Christian Grey?

Joseph Morgan as Christian Grey?

BUT…  I think that maybe his co-star Joseph Morgan might be better suited for the role. He too has been able to show a dark/mean streak along with a softer, sweet side to him. I think having Joseph as the lead could also help the film as he is not as famous as some of the other contenders and therefore the character won’t have to compete with the actors already made image.

Author Bret Easton Ellis, who has told his interest of script-writing the movie, has said on Twitter that he would like Alexander Skarsgard to take on the role of Mr. Grey. Once again, I am a huge TrueBlood fan, and I have seen the dark/nice streak in Eric Northman, so I understand what he sees. I also think that maybe Alexander could pull off the business man persona more than Ian Somerhalder. And when you think about it, Christian and Eric are rather similar characters, all Alexander has to do is loose the fangs and job done.

Alexander Skarsgard, could he be the future Mr. Grey?

Alexander Skarsgard, could he be the future Mr. Grey?

Ryan Gosling name has been coming up repeatedly and the Sun have even stated that the offer is for Ryan to turn down! This all seems like the choice of actors if very close to completion.

It seems like Ryan Gosling is the one to take on Mr. Grey

It seems like Ryan Gosling is the one to take on Mr. Grey

Ryan is a good looking man and I think he could be a good match. But I’m not 100% sold. I think I remember him too much as Noah from the Notebook, where he was a bit of a softie. Will he be able to show this darker and rougher side to him? I think he definitely has the looks for the role, just not sure about the personality. But I suppose it’s his job to find the right personality for the role in question. And he’s always played a great role in all his films, so I’m sure he would be able to make this work.

However out of these four, my favourite actor to take the role of Christian would have to be Joseph Morgan. Gorgeous, dark, yet sweet, he’s the perfect mix.

Let me know who you think should be cast as Mr. Grey?

Enjoy ;)

Laurie

X

11 responses to “Who will be Mr. Grey?

    • I’m not sure either whether he’ll be able to pull it off, but then he has acted the roles of his other films really well. So if he does get this lead role he should be able to perform it, hopefully anyway :)

    • Hi Mark, yes I really like it too :) thought it worked well for the 50 shades of grey post.

      I set it up so that the image is linked back to your page, so that I don’t get the recognition for your photography skills of course, but if you would like me to take it down, I totally understand :)

  1. not at all. i would have preferred that you’d asked me, and told me what you were doing. i love to see my photos used and i wouldn’t have said no. it’s just that when people use my photos i usually insist on a credit.
    however, it’s nice that you set up the photo to link back to my page, so thanks for that.
    if you want any other pics just drop me an email, oh and i like your blog very much.

    all the best,

    mark

    • Thank you. Sorry, I didn’t think about it at first, but will make sure I remember to ask in future :) And i’ll make sure i add a credit when I’m on my account later tonight :)

      And thank you, trying to get to grips with the blogging world, it’s a lot of fun so far. And btw I love those spearmint All Stars of yours :)

  2. Joseph Morgan for sure,he’s so good looking for the part and he plays Klaus on the vampire diaries so well,he such a good actor I want him to play Christian Grey so badly.

  3. Pingback: First photo of Christian Grey revealed… | Laurie Caumette·

  4. I realy think nicklouse from vampire diaries should play mr grey as he’s the image I had from reading the book of fifty shades I really hope he will be mr grey.

  5. Most definitely Joseph Morgan as C. Grey! Just read the first book and in my mind I saw Joseph as Grey…
    He’s a bit scary looking guy but still so HOT, just like Christian!

Leave a Reply

