Fifty Shades Darker Review

50 Shades Darker

50 Shades Darker

After being spell bound by Fifty Shades of Grey I simply had to read the second book in the Fifty Shades sequel as soon as possible. And just as I expected I was not disappointed. This book is just as captivating and exciting as the first.

The difference between this book to the previous is that the characters go into deeper emotions. Ana and Christian open themselves up, and we get to see the depth of emotion between them. This is not just emotions such as passion and love, we also get to see more into Christian’s tortured past. We learn about  how his past has affected his present and maybe even his future. This is something a lot of us can relate to, not to his extremes exactly, but we all have that dark thought in the back of our mind. That negative past of ours which we think will crawl back into our lives and claim us once again.

I sneakily read a passage of the third book before I had started Fifty Shades Darker, so I already had an idea of what was going to happen, yet I didn’t expect it when it actually happens. It still amazes me how E L James manages to surprise and captivate her readers even when they are “supposedly” fully prepared of what is supposed to happen.

In Fifty Shades Darker, I was most surprised by the change in Christian Grey’s character. We really get to see Christian get tested and pushed to his limits. To those of you who weren’t already 100% attached to him after reading Fifty Shades of Grey, there is no way you can not feel anything but admiration for him by the end of this book.

But don’t worry, it’s not all mushy and gushy, the dark passion and sensual desire is still fully present. ;)

The down side of the poor writing is still present. Repetition and simple words are still rife in this book. I wish she would have spiced up her vocabulary. But some how, I still love this book, eventhough the poor writing gets on my nerves, I still have to read on. And I still love Christian and Ana.

Enjoy

Laurie

X

One response to “Fifty Shades Darker Review

Leave a Reply

