Nail Fever

The 3 nail varnishes used for this style

I’ve gone slightly mad with my nails this week, so if you’re not into over-the-top nails, please stop reading (:

With my recent purchase of:

  • Models Own – Pink Fizz
  • Models Own – White nail art pen
  • And Revlons – Revlon Red (Boots are doing 3 for 2 on nail varnishes)

I let my imagination run wild and see what happens.

Don’t be frightened and think it’s too complicated, all you need to do is break it up into simple steps. This goes not only for this style, but many other complicated nail art patterns.

Step 1: Apply a base coat, this will help protect your nail and keep your nail from staining.

Step 2: Pick 2 colours (3 colours max) and paint your nails in a random fashion. So either every other nail a different colour, or as I’ve done; 2 Pink Fizz followed by 2 Revlon Red then finally one Pink Fizz.

Step 2

Step 3: When all your nails are dry you can now apply the second colour onto your nails. Alternate between; dots, stripes, diagonal lines,  horizontal waves, and whatever you can think of.  The more random the better (: If you are already thinking about drawing smaller details, I would suggest waiting for the next step.

Step 3

Step 4: Once again, wait for your nails to dry and then you can get your nail art pen and apply all the smaller designs you wish. This could be just making one straight line to separate two colours like I’ve done on my ring finger, or making more intricate swirls like I have on my thumb. The decision is totally up to you and the look you’re going for.

Step 4

Step 5: Apply a top coat to keep everything in place and that is it.

As you can see it can be done in 5 rather simple steps, all you need is time and a mildly steady hand, but even that is not totally necessary. I would also recommend the use of good nail varnishes, as to not need a second coat per colour.

If you want more nail inspirations, visit my Pinterest – Creative Nail Board, there’s plenty of ideas from simple and feminine to bold and daring  http://pinterest.com/caramelcup/creative-nails/

Enjoy (:

Laurie

x

Leave a Reply

