Catching Fire Book Review

Image

Catching Fire. Book #2 of the Hunger Games Trilogy

Well today I’ve gone in a bit of a Hunger Games craze (: I’ve finally managed to finish the second book, which I absolutely loved! AND I also went to see the Hunger Games in the cinema (: So my Hunger Games love has been fully satisfied today. So I’ll write a review of the 2nd book and of the movie tonight.

If you’ve read my previous review of the Hunger Games first book, you’ll see that I wasn’t blown away about it, and I thought that Katniss needed to reach a deeper emotional level. It feels like Suzanne Collins has reached down into my mind and made my thoughts materialise.

I thought that in Catching Fire you really see Katniss grow and see the love¬†reciprocated. This makes the whole love triangle even more intense. And every good story needs a love triangle. Even though you can still see she’s thinking her own demons in her head, you can nevertheless see that there is a connection between her and Peeta. And instead of seeing her cold exterior, you get to see glimpses of her love for him and her determination to keep them alive.

What I find upsetting about this story, is that Gale doesn’t get much of a voice. I suppose because he’s already such a huge part of her life back in District 12 that he doesn’t need a voice, the history between them is enough. But I still find that I would have liked him to be a little more present in her life, so the love triangle would be active. But this is just a minor thing.

I think what I loved the most in this book though is its unpredictability. You really do not expect what’s going to happen next, so it keeps you hooked on. I never saw that she would be thrown back into the arena, and then I did not imagine that she would be saved in the end! It was obvious that she was going to live (as there’s a third book) but I didn’t see it coming where she gets saved and breaks the games (I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t read it, and those who have understand what I’m talking about).

I can’t wait to see what happens in the final book, MockingJay. I’ll hopefully finish that by tomorrow.

I’m still contemplating whether I want Katniss to pick Peeta or Gale. Usually I always have my clear favourite in any love triangle, but in this book I find it really hard to choose. Her best friend? Or the person who risked his life for her?

Well hopefully I’ll find out tomorrow when I finish MockingJay who she picks :)

Laurie

x

Leave a Reply

