The Hunger Games Book Review

The Hunger Games Book #1

After seeing the huge fuss everyone was making about the Hunger Games book and movie, I decided to have a go at reading the book to see if it lives up to all the hype before I watch the movie. 

I’ve only read the first book so far, and I think it’s an average read. 

The romance story line is tragic and unfortunate, but I really think it could have been spiced up a bit more, and it felt Katniss (the female protagonist) has no deeper emotions, so the love story is hard to believe and as the reader you don’t feel engrossed in the story and feel for the person in question. 

My favourite person was Peeta, (the male protagonist) I thought that his romance story was much more believeable, and I thought that the whole story from his point of view would have been much more exiting action wise (apart from when he’s buried in mud and leaves for a couple of days) and romance wise. I definitely think I would have connected more with the book and would feel more excited about starting the next book, as I currently feel like reading the next book is a chore I must do. 

The action was okay, nothing too extreme. I thought that Suzanne Collins did incredibly well to recreate the scenes. When reading the book you can really imagine and see where Katniss or Peeta are and what they are doing.

I think overall story line and romance idea are great, I just wish Katniss had a deeper emotional level in relation to Peeta. But this might just be because my favourite part in books is the romance side of the story, and if that’s lacking then I’m usually quite disappointed, as I am with this book. But hopefully the next two books will catch up for it. I will post a review of it as soon as I finish reading the next Hunger Games book, Catching Fire.

Laurie

x

Leave a Reply

